Skip to Content

Contacts

The Arts Higher Degree Research Office is the Faculty's central administrative unit for our:

  • Higher Degree Research candidates and their supervisors, and
  • Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research students

Higher Degree Research (HDR)

Our purpose is to assist candidates in making their HDR learning experience positive and productive. The Arts HDR Office staff is available to provide advice to HDR candidates on any administrative matter relating to their research training. We administer the full student cycle of research degrees for domestic and international students, and provide advice on:

  • HDR Rules, Policies and Guidelines
  • administrative matters relating your candidature, such as changing supervisors, applying for leave of absence, changing to/from part/full time, and transferring your degree to another department or faculty.

After the initial enrolment, all HDR transactions, including forms and documents, are first processed by the Arts HDR Office, before being forwarded to the University Higher Degree Research Office (HDRO) or to other University departments.

Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research (BPhil/MRes)

The Arts HDR Office also administers the new MQ BPhil/MRes program.

Contact Us

Address:

The Arts HDR/MRes Office
Building W6A, Room 704 - Faculty of Arts
MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY NSW 2109

Email: HDR (PhD/MPhil) enquiries: arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes enquiries: arts.mres@mq.edu.au 
Web:http://www.arts.mq.edu.au/hdr
Office hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm Monday to Friday

Faculty of Arts HDR/MRes Office Contacts

Arts HDR/MRes Office Staff
Nicholas Strobbe (Mon - Fri)

Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Phone: +61 2 9850 6810
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 704 

Beppie Keane (Mon - Fri)

Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Phone: +61 2 9850 4092
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 704 

Hannah Choi (Wed - Fri)

Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Phone: +61 2 9850 6894
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 704 

Robert Collier (Mon - Fri)

Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Phone: +61 2 9850 4431
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 704 

Laura Aubrey (Mon - Fri) 

Arts HDR/MRes Admin Assistant
Phone: +61 2 9850 4099
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 704 

 
Maryanne Hozijan Manager, HDR/MRes
Email: maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4238
Fax: +61 2 9850 1046
Location: Building W6A, Room 713 

Dr Michelle Jamieson
HDR Learning Advisor, Humanities 
Email: michelle.jamieson@mq.edu.au
Phone: + 61 2 9850 7036 
Location: Building W6A, Room 112 

Dr Andrew Alter
Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research
Email: andrew.alter@mq.edu.au
Location Building W6A

Dr Victoria Flanagan
Faculty MRes Director
Email: victoria.flanagan@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 6804
Fax: +61 2 9850 6593
Location: Building W6A, Room 627 

Departments

DepartmentHead of DepartmentHDR DirectorDepartment AdministratorMRes Advisor
Ancient History Dr Ian Plant

Dr Linda Evans
Phone: (02) 9850 8802
Office: W6A 521
linda.evans@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Boyo Ockinga
Phone: (02) 9850 8852 
Office: W6A 533 
boyo.ockinga@mq.edu.au 

A/Prof Stuart Piggin
Phone: (02) 9850 8816 
Office: W6A 337
stuart.piggin@mq.edu.au  

Raina Kim
Phone:
(02) 9850 8833
Office: W6A 540 

Angela Abberton 
Phone:
(02) 9850 8843
Office: W6A 539

A/Prof Malcolm Choat
Phone: (02) 9850 7561
Office: W6A 504
malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au

Dr. Peter Edwell
Phone: (02) 9850 8845
Office: W6A 516 
peter.edwell@mq.edu.au 

Anthropology Prof Greg Downey

Dr Eve Vincent
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Office: W6A 611
eve.vincent@mq.edu.au 

Payel Ray
Phone:
(02) 9850 8077
Office: W6A 615

Dr Jaap Timmer
Phone: (02) 9850 8077
Office: W6A 603
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Chris Houston
Phone: (02) 9850 8471
Office: W6A 606
English Prof Antonina Harbus A/Prof Marcelle Freiman
Phone: (02) 9850 6892
Office: W6A 638
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
Frances Thompson
Phone:
(02) 9850 8739
Office: W6A 641

A/Prof Paul Sheehan
Phone: (02) 9850 8757 
Office: W6A 622
paul.sheehan@mq.edu.au

Dr Ryan Twomey
Phone: (02) 9850 8743
Office: W6A 621
ryan.twomey@mq.edu.au 

Geography and Planning

Dr Donna Houston (Acting to February 2017)

A/Prof Sandie Suchet-Pearson
Phone: (02) 9850 8393
Office: W3A 428
sandie.suchet@mq.edu.au
Farhana Haque
Phone: (02) 9850 1816
Office: W3A 419          
Dr Emily O'Gorman
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W4A 420
emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au 
Indigenous Studies Dr Trudy Ambler (Acting)Dr Trudy Ambler (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 7938 
Office: W6A 237
trudy.ambler@mq.edu.au
Nancy Guevara
Phone:
(02) 9850 8036
Office: W3A 408
Dr Trudy Ambler
Phone: (02) 9850 7938
Office: W6A 237
trudy.ambler@mq.edu.au 
International Studies A/Prof Ulrike Garde  A/Prof Ulrike Garde
Phone: (02) 9850 7051
Office: W6A 211
ulrike.garde@mq.edu.au

Tina Kong
Asian Studies 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7008  
Office: W6A 201

Jennifer Heward 
European Languages & Cultures 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7005 
Office: W6A 217 

Dr Lan Zhang
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Office: W6A 232
lan.zhang@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School Prof Natalie KleinA/Prof Archana Parashar
Phone: (02) 9850 7062
Office: W3A 618
archana.parashar@mq.edu.au

Debbie Loo
Phone:
(02) 9850 4218
Office: W3A 533

Eleanor McGhee
Phone:
(02) 9850 7096
Office: W3A 530 

Prof Denise Meyerson
Phone: (02) 9850 7079
Office: W3A 535
denise.meyerson@mq.edu.au
Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies Prof Nicole Anderson

Dr Anthony Lambert
Phone: (02) 9850 2148 
Office: Y3A 149
anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 

Stephany Yeap
Phone:
(02) 9850 2256
Office: Y3A 259
Prof John Potts
Phone: (02) 9850 2163 
Office: Y3A 165J
john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations Prof Sean Brawley

Dr Mark Hearn
Phone: (02) 9850 8824 
Office: W6A 411
mark.hearn@mq.edu.au 

Jacqueline Anker (Mod History)
Office: W6A 400
Phone:
(02) 9850 8879 

Kelli-Lee Drake (Pol & IR)
Office: W6A 440
Phone:
(02) 9850 8869 

Dr Leigh Boucher
(Mod History)
Phone: (02) 9850 7041  
Office: W6A 405 
leigh.boucher@mq.edu.au

Dr Lloyd Cox 
(Pol & IR)
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Office: W6A 423
lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au 

Philosophy Prof Jeanette KennettDr Paul Formosa
Phone: (02) 9850 8817
Office: W6A 728
paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
Clara Wong
Phone:
(02) 9850 8837 
Office: W6A 739
Prof Nicholas Smith
Phone: (02) 9850 8881 
Office: W6A 735
nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Security Studies and CriminologyProf Ben Schreer

Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: Y3A Level 2
Dalbir.Ahlawat@mq.edu.au

Louise Hutchence
Phone:
(02) 9850 1421 
Office: Y3A L2
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: Y3A Level 2 
Sociology Prof Gabrielle Meagher

Dr Shaun Wilson 
Phone: (02) 9850 8074 
Office: W6A 829
shaun.wilson@mq.edu.au

Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Phone: (02) 9850 7943 
Office: W6A 830
kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au

Vicki Worthington
Phone:
(02) 9850 8078 
Office: W6A 827

Dr Raj Velayutham
Phone: (02) 9850 4426  
Office: W6A 835
selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au

Dr Alison Leitch
Phone: (02) 9850 8102 
Office: W6A 832
alison.leitch@mq.edu.au

DepartmentHead of DepartmentHDR DirectorDepartment AdministratorMRes Advisor
Ancient History Dr Ian Plant

Dr Linda Evans
Phone: (02) 9850 8802
Office: W6A 521
linda.evans@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Boyo Ockinga
Phone: (02) 9850 8852 
Office: W6A 533 
boyo.ockinga@mq.edu.au 

A/Prof Stuart Piggin
Phone: (02) 9850 8816 
Office: W6A 337
stuart.piggin@mq.edu.au  

Raina Kim
Phone:
(02) 9850 8833
Office: W6A 540 

Angela Abberton 
Phone:
(02) 9850 8843
Office: W6A 539

A/Prof Malcolm Choat
Phone: (02) 9850 7561
Office: W6A 504
malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au

Dr. Peter Edwell
Phone: (02) 9850 8845
Office: W6A 516 
peter.edwell@mq.edu.au 

Anthropology A/Prof Greg Downey

Dr Eve Vincent - Co-Director (Primary HDR Director)
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Office: W6A 611
eve.vincent@mq.edu.au 

A/Prof Kalpana Ram-Co-Director
Phone: (02) 9850 8016
Office: W6A 604
kalpana.ram@mq.edu.au 

Payel Ray
Phone:
(02) 9850 8077
Office: W6A 615

Dr Jakob Timmer
Phone: (02) 9850 8121
Office: W6A 603
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Chris Houston
Phone: (02) 9850 8471
Office: W6A 606
English Prof Antonina Harbus A/Prof Marcelle Freiman
Phone: (02) 9850 6892
Office: W6A 638
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
Frances Thompson
Phone:
(02) 9850 8739
Office: W6A 641

A/Prof Paul Sheehan
Phone: (02) 9850 8757 
Office: W6A 622
paul.sheehan@mq.edu.au

Dr Ryan Twomey
Phone: (02) 9850 8743
Office: W6A 621
ryan.twomey@mq.edu.au 

Geography and Planning

A/Prof Andrew McGregor (Acting until mid-July 2016)

Dr Sandie Suchet-Pearson
Phone: (02) 9850 8393
Office: W3A 428
sandie.suchet@mq.edu.au
Farhana Haque
Phone: (02) 9850 1816
Office: W3A 419          
Dr Emily O'Gorman
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W4A 420
emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au 
Indigenous Studies Dr Trudy Ambler (Acting)Dr Trudy Ambler (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 7938 
Office: W6A 237
trudy.ambler@mq.edu.au
Nancy Guevara
Phone:
(02) 9850 8036
Office: W3A 408
Dr Trudy Ambler
Phone: (02) 9850 7938
Office: W6A 237
trudy.ambler@mq.edu.au 
International Studies A/Prof Ulrike Garde  A/Prof Ulrike Garde
Phone: (02) 9850 7051
Office: W6A 211
ulrike.garde@mq.edu.au

Tina Kong
Asian Studies 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7008  
Office: W6A 201

Jennifer Heward 
European Languages & Cultures 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7005 
Office: W6A 217 

Dr Lan Zhang
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Office: W6A 232
lan.zhang@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School Prof Natalie KleinA/Prof Archana Parashar
Phone: (02) 9850 7062
Office: W3A 618
archana.parashar@mq.edu.au

Debbie Loo
Phone:
(02) 9850 4218
Office: W3A 533

Eleanor McGhee
Phone:
(02) 9850 7096
Office: W3A 530 

Prof Denise Meyerson
Phone: (02) 9850 7079
Office: W3A 535
denise.meyerson@mq.edu.au
Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies A/Prof Nicole Anderson

Dr Anthony Lambert
Phone: (02) 9850 2148 
Office: Y3A 149
anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 

Stephany Yeap
Phone:
(02) 9850 2256
Office: Y3A 259
Prof John Potts
Phone: (02) 9850 2163 
Office: Y3A 165J
john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations Prof Sean Brawley

Dr Mark Hearn (Mod Hist)
Phone: (02) 9850 8824 
Office: W6A 411
mark.hearn@mq.edu.au 


A/Prof Aleksandar Pavkovic (Pol & IR)
Phone: (02) 9850 7043 
Office: W6A 433
 aleksandar.pavkovic@mq.edu.au 

Jacqueline Anker (Mod History)
Office: W6A 400
Phone:
(02) 9850 8879 

Kelli-Lee Drake (Pol & IR)
Office: W6A 440
Phone:
(02) 9850 8869 

Dr Leigh Boucher
(Mod History)
Phone: (02) 9850 7041  
Office: W6A 405 
leigh.boucher@mq.edu.au

Dr Lloyd Cox 
(Pol & IR)
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Office: W6A 423
lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au 

Philosophy Prof Jeanette KennettDr Paul Formosa
Phone: (02) 9850 8817
Office: W6A 728
paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
Clara Wong
Phone:
(02) 9850 8837 
Office: W6A 739
Prof Nicholas Smith
Phone: (02) 9850 8881 
Office: W6A 735
nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Security Studies and CriminologyDr Benjamin Schreer

Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: Y3A Level 2
Dalbir.Ahlawat@mq.edu.au

Louise Hutchence
Phone:
(02) 9850 1421 
Office: Y3A L2
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: Y3A Level 2 
Sociology Professor Gabrielle Meagher

Dr Shaun Wilson 
Phone: (02) 9850 8620 
Office: W6A 829
shaun.wilson@mq.edu.au

Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Phone: (02) 9850 7943 
Office: W6A 830
kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au

Vicki Worthington
Phone:
(02) 9850 8078 
Office: W6A 827

Dr Raj Velayutham
Phone: (02) 9850 4426  
Office: W6A 835
selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au 

Dr Alison Leitch
Phone: (02) 9850 8102 
Office: W6A 832
alison.leitch@mq.edu.au