Skip to Content

Contacts

The Arts Higher Degree Research Office is the Faculty's central administrative unit for our:

  • Higher Degree Research candidates and their supervisors, and
  • Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research students

Higher Degree Research (HDR)

Our purpose is to assist candidates in making their HDR learning experience positive and productive. The Arts HDR Office staff is available to provide advice to HDR candidates on any administrative matter relating to their research training. We administer the full student cycle of research degrees for domestic and international students, and provide advice on:

  • HDR Rules, Policies and Guidelines
  • administrative matters relating your candidature, such as changing supervisors, applying for leave of absence, changing to/from part/full time, and transferring your degree to another department or faculty.

After the initial enrolment, all HDR transactions, including forms and documents, are first processed by the Arts HDR Office, before being forwarded to the University Higher Degree Research Office (HDRO) or to other University departments.

Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research (BPhil/MRes)

The Arts HDR Office also administers the new MQ BPhil/MRes program.

Contact Us

Address:

The Faculty of Arts HDR/MRes Office
Building Y3A, Level 2, Room 225
10 Hadenfeld Avenue
MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY NSW 2109

Email: HDR (PhD/MPhil) enquiries: arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes enquiries: arts.mres@mq.edu.au 
Web:http://www.arts.mq.edu.au/hdr
http://www.mq.edu.au/about/about-the-university/faculties-and-departments/faculty-of-arts  
Office hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm Monday to Friday

Faculty of Arts HDR/MRes Office Contacts

Arts HDR/MRes Office Staff
Robert Collier (Mon - Fri)
Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Email: PhD/MPhil - arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
            BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4431
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 
Beppie Keane (Mon - Fri)
Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Email: PhD/MPhil - arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
            BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4092
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 
Nicholas Strobbe (Mon - Fri)
Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Email: PhD/MPhil - arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
            BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 6810
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 
 

Laura Aubrey (Mon - Fri) 
Arts MRes Officer
Email: BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4099
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Hannah Choi (Mon, Wed - Fri)
Arts MRes Officer
Email: BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 6894
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 
Maryanne Hozijan Manager, HDR/MRes
Email: maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4238
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Dr Michelle Jamieson
HDR Learning Advisor, Humanities 
Email: michelle.jamieson@mq.edu.au
Phone: + 61 2 9850 7036 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Dr Noah R. Bassil
Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research
Email: noah.bassil@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 8811
Location: Building Y3A, Room 234

Dr Linda Evans
Faculty MRes Director
Email: linda.evans@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 8802
Location: Building AHH, Room 2.658 

Departments

DepartmentHead of DepartmentHDR DirectorDepartment AdministratorMRes Advisor
Ancient History Dr Ian Plant

Dr Linda Evans
Phone: (02) 9850 8802
Office: AHH
linda.evans@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Boyo Ockinga
Phone: (02) 9850 8852 
Office: AHH
boyo.ockinga@mq.edu.au 

Raina Kim
Phone:
(02) 9850 8833
Office: AHH 

Angela Abberton 
Phone:
(02) 9850 8843
Office: AHH

A/Prof Malcolm Choat
Phone: (02) 9850 7561
Office: AHH
malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au

Dr. Peter Edwell
Phone: (02) 9850 8845
Office: AHH
peter.edwell@mq.edu.au 

Anthropology A/Prof Lisa Wynn

A/Prof Kalpana Ram (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 8016
Office: AHH
kalpana.ram@mq.edu.au 

Dr Eve Vincent
(Leave: Returns 1Jan2018)
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Office: AHH
eve.vincent@mq.edu.au 

Payel Ray
Phone:
(02) 9850 8077
Office: AHH

Dr Jaap Timmer
Phone: (02) 9850 8077
Office: AHH
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Chris Houston
Phone: (02) 9850 8471
Office: AHH
English Prof Antonina Harbus A/Prof Marcelle Freiman
Phone: (02) 9850 6892
Office: AHH
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
Frances Thompson
Phone:
(02) 9850 8739
Office: AHH

Dr Stephanie Russo
Phone: (02) 9850 8731
Office: AHH
stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au

Dr Alys Moody (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 7057 
Office: AHH
alys.moody@mq.edu.au

Geography and Planning

Dr Fiona Miller (Acting)

Dr Fiona Miller (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 8425
Office: W3A 426
fiona.miller@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Sandie Suchet-Pearson (Leave: Returns 31Dec2017)
Phone: (02) 9850 8393
Office: W3A 428
sandie.suchet@mq.edu.au
Farhana Haque
Phone: (02) 9850 1816
Office: W3A 419          
Dr Emily O'Gorman
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W3A 420
emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au 
Indigenous Studies Prof Bronwyn CarlsonProf Bronwyn Carlson
Phone: (02) 9850 8891
Office: W3A 411
bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
Nancy Guevara
Phone:
(02) 9850 8036
Office: W3A 408
Prof Bronwyn CarlsonPhone: (02) 9850 8891
Office: W3A 411
bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
International Studies A/Prof Ulrike Garde  Dr Kevin CarricoPhone: (02) 9850 7692
Office: AHH
kevin.carrico@mq.edu.auDr

Alex Kurmann 
(Leave: Returns 7Jan2018)
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Office: AHH
alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au 

Tina Kong
Asian Studies 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7008  
Office: AHH

Jennifer Heward 
European Languages & Cultures 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7005 
Office: AHH 

Dr Lan Zhang
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Office: AHH
lan.zhang@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School A/Prof Vijaya Nagarajan (Acting)A/Prof Archana Parashar
Phone: (02) 9850 7062
Office: W3A 618
archana.parashar@mq.edu.au

Debbie Loo
Phone:
(02) 9850 4218
Office: W3A 533

Eleanor McGhee
Phone:
(02) 9850 7096
Office: W3A 530 

A/Prof Malcolm Voyce
Phone: (02) 9850 7089
Office: W3A 617
malcolm.voyce@mq.edu.au 
Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies Prof Nicole Anderson

Dr Anthony Lambert
Phone: (02) 9850 2148 
Office: Y3A 149
anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 

Stephany Yeap
Phone:
(02) 9850 2256
Office: Y3A 259
Prof John Potts
Phone: (02) 9850 2163 
Office: Y3A 165J
john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations Prof Chris Dixon (Acting)

Dr Alison Holland
Phone: (02) 9850 8829 
Office: AHH
alison.holland@mq.edu.au

Jacqueline Anker (Mod History)
Office: AHH
Phone:
(02) 9850 8879 

Kelli-Lee Drake (Pol & IR)
Office: AHH
Phone:
(02) 9850 8869 

Dr Tanya Evans
(Mod History)
Phone: (02) 9850 8875  
Office: AHH
tanya.evans@mq.edu.au 

Dr Lloyd Cox 
(Pol & IR)
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Office: AHH
lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au 

Philosophy Prof Jeanette KennettDr Albert Atkin
Phone: (02) 9850 6880
Office: AHH
albert.atkin@mq.edu.au 
Clara Wong
Phone:
(02) 9850 8837 
Office: AHH
Prof Nicholas Smith
Phone: (02) 9850 8881 
Office: AHH
nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Security Studies and CriminologyProf Ben Schreer

Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: AHH
Dalbir.Ahlawat@mq.edu.au

Louise Hutchence
Phone:
(02) 9850 1421 
Office: AHH
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: AHH
Sociology Prof Gabrielle Meagher

A/Prof Shaun Wilson 
Phone: (02) 9850 8074 
Office: AHH
shaun.wilson@mq.edu.au

Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Phone: (02) 9850 7943 
Office: AHH
kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au

Vicki Worthington
Phone:
(02) 9850 8078 
Office: AHH

Dr Raj Velayutham
Phone: (02) 9850 4426  
Office: AHH
selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au

Dr Justine Lloyd
Phone: (02) 9850 9940
Office: AHH
justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au