Skip to Content

Contacts

The Arts Higher Degree Research Office is the Faculty's central administrative unit for our:

  • Higher Degree Research candidates and their supervisors, and
  • Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research students

Higher Degree Research (HDR)

Our purpose is to assist candidates in making their HDR learning experience positive and productive. The Arts HDR Office staff is available to provide advice to HDR candidates on any administrative matter relating to their research training. We administer the full student cycle of research degrees for domestic and international students, and provide advice on:

  • HDR Rules, Policies and Guidelines
  • administrative matters relating your candidature, such as changing supervisors, applying for leave of absence, changing to/from part/full time, and transferring your degree to another department or faculty.

After the initial enrolment, all HDR transactions, including forms and documents, are first processed by the Arts HDR Office, before being forwarded to the University Higher Degree Research Office (HDRO) or to other University departments.

Bachelor of Philosophy / Master of Research (BPhil/MRes)

The Arts HDR Office also administers the new MQ BPhil/MRes program.

Contact Us

Address:

The Faculty of Arts HDR/MRes Office
Building Y3A, Level 2, Room 225
10 Hadenfeld Avenue
MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY NSW 2109

Email: HDR (PhD/MPhil) enquiries: arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes enquiries: arts.mres@mq.edu.au 
Web:http://www.arts.mq.edu.au/hdr
http://www.mq.edu.au/about/about-the-university/faculties-and-departments/faculty-of-arts  
Office hours: 9:00am to 5:00pm Monday to Friday

Faculty of Arts HDR/MRes Office Contacts

Arts HDR/MRes Office Staff
Beppie Keane (Mon - Fri)
Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Email:

PhD/MPhil - arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone:
+61 2 9850 4092
Location:
Building Y3A, Room 225 
Nicholas Strobbe (Mon - Fri)
Arts HDR/MRes Officer
Email:

PhD/MPhil - arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone:
+61 2 9850 6810
Location:
Building Y3A, Room 225 

Laura Aubrey (Mon - Fri) 
Arts MRes Officer
Email: BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4099
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Hannah Choi (Wed - Fri)
Arts MRes Officer
Email: BPhil/MRes - arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 6894
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 
Maryanne Hozijan (Mon-Fri) 
Manager, HDR/MRes
Email: maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 9850 4238
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Dr Michelle Jamieson
HDR Learning Advisor, Humanities 
Email: michelle.jamieson@mq.edu.au
Phone: + 61 2 9850 7036 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 225 

Dr Noah R. Bassil
Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research
Email: noah.bassil@mq.edu.au
Location: Building Y3A, Room 234

Dr Linda Evans
Faculty MRes Director
Email: linda.evans@mq.edu.au
Location: Building AHH, Room 2.658 

Departments

DepartmentHead of DepartmentHDR DirectorDepartment AdministratorMRes Advisor
Ancient History Dr Ian Plant

Dr Caillan Davenport
Phone: (02) 9850 8754 
Office: AHH
caillan.davenport@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Boyo Ockinga
Phone: (02) 9850 8852 
Office: AHH
boyo.ockinga@mq.edu.au 

Raina Kim
Phone:
(02) 9850 8833
Office: AHH 

Angela Abberton 
Phone:
(02) 9850 8843
Office: AHH

Dr Gunner Mikkelsen (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 8868
Office: AHH
gunner.mikkelsen@mq.edu.au

Dr. Peter Edwell (Assisting)
Phone: (02) 9850 8845
Office: AHH
peter.edwell@mq.edu.au

On leave: A/Prof Malcolm Choat
Returns: 31 July 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 7561

Office: AHH
malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au

Anthropology A/Prof Lisa Wynn

A/Prof Kalpana Ram (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 8016
Office: AHH
kalpana.ram@mq.edu.au 

On leave: Dr Eve Vincent
Returns: 15 Jan 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 8026
Office: AHH
eve.vincent@mq.edu.au 

Payel Ray
Phone:
(02) 9850 8077
Office: AHH

Dr Jaap Timmer
Phone: (02) 9850 8077
Office: AHH
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Chris Houston
Phone: (02) 9850 8471
Office: AHH
English Prof Antonina Harbus A/Prof Marcelle Freiman
Phone: (02) 9850 6892
Office: AHH
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
Frances Thompson
Phone:
(02) 9850 8739
Office: AHH

Dr Stephanie Russo
Phone: (02) 9850 8731
Office: AHH
stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au

Dr Alys Moody
Phone: (02) 9850 7057 
Office: AHH
alys.moody@mq.edu.au

Geography and Planning

Dr Fiona Miller (Acting)

Dr Jessica McLean
Acting: 15-31 January 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 6295
Office: W3A
jessica.mclean@mq.edu.au

On leave: A/Prof Sandie Suchet-Pearson
Returns: 1 February 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 8393
Office: W3A
sandie.suchet@mq.edu.au
Farhana Haque
Phone: (02) 9850 1816
Office: W3A         
A/Prof Kristian Ruming
Acting: 15 - 22 Jan 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W3A
kristian.ruming@mq.edu.au

A/Prof Andrew McGregor 
Acting: 22 Jan - 1 Jul 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W3A
andrew.mcgregor@mq.edu.au

On leave: Dr Emily O'Gorman
Returns: 1 Jul 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 9670
Office: W3A 
emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au 
Indigenous Studies Prof Bronwyn CarlsonProf Bronwyn Carlson
Phone: (02) 9850 8891
Office: W3A
bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
Jade Towney
Phone:
(02) 9850 8036
Office: W3A
Prof Bronwyn CarlsonPhone: (02) 9850 8891
Office: W3A 
bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
International Studies A/Prof Ulrike Garde  Dr Kevin Carrico (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 7692
Office: AHH
kevin.carrico@mq.edu.auDr

On leave: Alex Kurmann 
Returns: 7 Jan 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Office: AHH
alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au 

Tina Kong
Asian Studies 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7008  
Office: AHH

Jennifer Heward 
European Languages & Cultures 
Phone:
(02) 9850 7005 
Office: AHH 

Dr Lan Zhang
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Office: AHH
lan.zhang@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School A/Prof Vijaya Nagarajan (Acting)Prof Rafiq Islam
Phone: (02) 9850 7082
Office: W3A 
rafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au

Debbie Loo
Phone:
(02) 9850 4218
Office: W3A

Eleanor McGhee
Phone:
(02) 9850 7096
Office: W3A

Chindy Praseuthsouk
Phone:
(02) 9850 7098
Office: W3A

A/Prof Malcolm Voyce
Phone: (02) 9850 7089
Office: W3A
malcolm.voyce@mq.edu.au 
Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies Prof Nicole Anderson

Dr Anthony Lambert
Phone: (02) 9850 2148 
Office: Y3A
anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 

Michelle Lin
Phone:
(02) 9850 2257
Office: Y3A

Stephany Yeap

Phone:
(02) 9850 2256
Office: Y3A
Prof John Potts
Phone: (02) 9850 2163 
Office: Y3A
john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations Prof Chris Dixon (Acting)

Dr Alison Holland
Phone: (02) 9850 8829 
Office: AHH
alison.holland@mq.edu.au

Bettie Ha
(Mod History)
Office: AHH
Phone:
(02) 9850 8879 

Kelli-Lee Drake (Pol & IR)
Office: AHH
Phone:
(02) 9850 8869 

Dr Tanya Evans
(Mod History)
Phone: (02) 9850 8875  
Office: AHH
tanya.evans@mq.edu.au 

Dr Lloyd Cox 
(Pol & IR)
Phone: (02) 9850 4096
Office: AHH
lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au 

Philosophy Prof Jeanette KennettDr Albert Atkin
Phone: (02) 9850 6880
Office: AHH
albert.atkin@mq.edu.au 
Clara Wong
Phone:
(02) 9850 8837 
Office: AHH
Prof Jeanette Kennett (Acting)
Phone: (02) 9850 1047
Office: AHH
jeanette.kennett@mq.edu.au

On leave: Prof Nicholas Smith
Returns: July 2018
Phone: (02) 9850 8881 
Office: AHH
nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Security Studies and CriminologyProf Ben Schreer

Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: AHH
Dalbir.Ahlawat@mq.edu.au

Louise Hutchence
Phone:
(02) 9850 1421 
Office: AHH
Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Phone: (02) 9850 1433
Office: AHH
Sociology Prof Gabrielle Meagher

A/Prof Amanda Wise
Phone: (02) 9850 8835 
Office: AHH
amanda.wise@mq.edu.au

Dr Kumiko Kawashima
Phone: (02) 9850 7943 
Office: AHH
kumiko.kawashima@mq.edu.au

Vicki Worthington
Phone:
(02) 9850 8078 
Office: AHH

Dr Raj Velayutham
Phone: (02) 9850 4426  
Office: AHH
selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au

Dr Justine Lloyd
Phone: (02) 9850 9940
Office: AHH
justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au